Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Top 10 stacked bar chart with one or two dimensions

Hopefully this is simple and I am just missing something.  I am new to using Qlik Sense.

I have purchasing data with year, commodity and vendor. I want to be able to create 2 charts as follows.

Chart #1

Dimension 1 = year, Dim 2 = Commodity.  Measure = sum of spend for each commodity.  I want one stacked bar for each year showing the top 10 commodity spend amounts.  I can do this with a regular bar chart, but when I change to a stacked bar, the limitation capability disappears and the stacked bar shows ALL commodities for each year.  Is this because the Top 10 are not the same for each year?  If so, why does it work in the regular grouped bar chart which can show a different Top 10 for each year? 

Chart #2 - same concept really, but with a filter

Dim 1 = Year, Dim 2 = Vendor, Measure = Spend by vendor.  Filter = Commodity

I want to filter for one commodity and show the Top 10 vendor spend sums for each year.

Also - is it possible to have only one sheet filter for the single commodity, not all sheets in the app?

Thanks in advance and if you are in the US - Happy Thanksgiving.

4 Replies
JonnyPoole
Employee
Employee

You can do that. The trick is to use SET ANALYSIS in your measure expression to focus the data set to the top 10.

If your measure is say, sum(Sales)

Use the following SET Statement to focus it to the 10 countries with the most sales

Sum(          {$<Country={"=rank( total sum(Sales))<=10"}>}       [Sales] )

... in this statement, '$' means that the set of data will respond to all user filters .  The '<Country={"=rank( total sum(Sales))<=10"}>'  means that Country (no matter if a user selects a country filter in the dashboard) will always be the top 10 countries by sum(Sales).

You can use this for #2 .