Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Using a Windows Service Account in a DB Connection

I am new to Qlik Sense and trying to create a DB Connection using Windows Authentication.  I, myself, have access to the DB through my domain credentials (e.g. can login via SSMS).

When I create a connection in Qlik Sense with a new app and add a DB Connection I choose the OLE DB for Microsoft SQL Server.  However selecting Windows Authentication fails.  I'm forced to use a sql account. 

However, my real goal is to establish a library connection that uses a Windows Service account (domain login).  Either way, I don't understand why Windows Authentication that failed.

Please advise and thanks!

Paul

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Michael_Tarallo
Employee
Employee

Hello Paul,

In order to use Windows Integrated Security with OLE DB and MS SQL - the Qlik Sense Engine service needs to be started with an account that also has WIS access to the in the security settings in your MS SQ server.

Here are my settings for example:

7-14-2015 4-13-02 PM.png

For clarity, Qlik Sense does not function like traditional BI and SQL-based query tools.

We pull data into our in-memory engine (QIX) and then you can perform the analysis using the data loaded into the app. Once the data is loaded into the app, you can also secure the app and its data in a few ways.

If I can understand more about your use case I can help you further.

Also if you have not seen these yet: New to Qlik Sense Videos - they will also help you become more familiar with Qlik Sense.

Please mark the appropriate replies as CORRECT / HELPFUL so our team and other members know that your question(s) has been answered to your satisfaction.

Regards,

Mike Tarallo

Qlik

Regards,
Mike Tarallo
Qlik

View solution in original post

10 Replies
arthur_dom
Creator III