Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ali_hijazi
Partner - Master II
Partner - Master II

What folders to backup

Hello

I'm new to Qlik Sense

I just want to know which folders do we have to backup for Qlik enterprise (server)

Please advise

I can walk on water when it freezes
9 Replies
reddy-s
Master II
Master II

Hi Ali,

Backup the apps folder, data files, content and extensions folders

Levi_Turner
Employee
Employee

What needs to be backed up of course depends on the requirements, e.g. some folks need logs for auditing requirements. The ideal tool to take care of it would the Repository Snapshot Manager (Using the Repository Snapshot Manager ‒ Qlik Sense) since it'll take care of all the files / folders that are needed to restore the site. For a schema of a tool which I have used before with success is RepositorySnapshotManager.exe -backup -ver=2.2.4.0 -path="c:\QlikSenseBackups" -u=DOMAIN\QlikSenseServiceAccount -p=DoNotUseThisPasswordChangeToYourOwn -databasePassword=DoNotUseThisPasswordChangeToYourOwn -certificatePassword=password -f

ali_hijazi
Partner - Master II
Partner - Master II
Author

can I use the RSM for the following situation

We have a functional Qlik Sense site on a server machine M1

Now we bought a new machine and we want to move the site to the new machine

can we restore everything to the new machine M2?

will everything be the same in terms of tokens, scheduled tasks etc...

Please advise

Levi_Turner
Employee
Employee

Migrating to a new machine is more complicated than a simple backup and restore the same machine. The complicating factors include but are not limited to: host.cfg has a base64 encoded servername so it will need to be adjusted and server certs are generated to the hostname from the trusted root.