cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Alternate States - Show data in table based on selections in List Box

Hi,

I am quite new to using qlikview, so any help would be great!

Objective: Populate a straight table based on the selections made in a list box by assigning both List box object and the chart object to one single Alternate State.

Alternate State name: State1

List Box holds a list of dates. Field name used in the list box is 'Date'

Straight Table should show the selected dates (in list box) as dimension and should get listed in the 'Date' column of the table shown below.

What I want to do: make the Date field (in the table as a dimension) = to the selected values from the list box and then show them in the table so the corresponding E1, E2, E3, and E4 columns can be populated. What would be the expression logic to use for the dimension so I can use the alternate state name both objects are assigned to? Right now I something like this: =Date=State1::Date --> this is not correct at the moment.

Here is what I have: list box of dates (attached image ListBox)

Table to be populated:

Date E1E2E3E4
7/2/2018
7/3/2018
3 Replies
swuehl
MVP
MVP

I think I do not understand your issue.

If you have assigned both sheet objects to the same alternate states, the straight table should already reflect the selections in your list box, no need to specify the state in the dimension or expression then (this is needed if you want to mix states in the results of your chart, i.e. show results based on different states, using set analysis with a different syntax then you tried).

Just to check, have you set the alternate state in both objects (also in general tab of your straight table properties)?

2018-09-08 10_00_00-Window.png

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Hi Stefan, thanks for your reply. I forgot to mention another detail of my current setup.