Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Compare two data sets CurrentModel against ProjectedModel

Hi, I am new to QlikView. i normally work in SQL

I have been tasked to do the following, i am not sure if you can even do this in QlikView.

I have a dataset of 5 linked tables named CurrentModel in SQL.

I want to create two views in QlikView using the same tables one view is called CurrentModel and the other view to be called ProjectedModel

the only difference between the two are CurrentModel will always be this Financial year and ProjectedModel will be next Financial year.

What i have noticed is if i bring both datasets into QlikView with the same field names QlikView joins both datasets on the all the field names.

What i need to do is have both datasets sitting next to each other and a global field that say if i change Expense for ToiletRolls then both models update to show the difference.

Firstly am i doing this right bringing in two datasets, or can i mirror the one dataset and then apply a different date for each. or ????

thanks, i hope i have explained this well enough

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
rwunderlich
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

I think you want to CONCATENATE (Union)  the data, not JOIN. So for both sets of data the Inpatients field would be named "Inpatients". Each row would have discriminator field that would identify the type. You could use one discriminator field or two, depending on the expression style.

For example, if the fieldname was "Type" with values 'Current', 'Projected', you would use set analysis

=sum({<[Type={"Current"} [ICU Hours])

If you used two flag fields.

IsCurrent = 0/1

IsProjected = 0/1

then you would use flag multiplication

=sum([ICU Hours] * IsCurrent)

You can mix both techniques.

-Rob

View solution in original post

8 Replies
swuehl
MVP
MVP

Hi kiwidave,

not completely sure If I understood but I try: