Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Complex averaging problem

Hi,

I'm new to Qlikview and I'm not even sure how to phrase my question. Im looking at simple survey data (pic attached), at the moment for each question I can show a barchart(labelled) with the question answers (represented as numbers) on the x axis and the frequency with which they were chosen on the y axis.

The expression is = Count(DISTINCT users) and it nicely shows the distribution of answers per question.

My problem is this, I am trying to get an 'average' score for each question shown in a gauge (if possible?). In the question below 10 people chose option 1, 5 chose option 2, 2 chose option 3 and 3 chose option 4.

I would like an expression to calculate the the average of the multiplication y axis value by the x axis value for each x value

Just for clarity, in the case below it would be =Avg((10 * 1) + (5 * 2) + (2 * 3) + (3 * 4))

New Bitmap Image.bmp

I hope that made sense!

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sunny_talwar

May be this

Avg(Aggr(Count(DISTINCT users) * number, number))

or

Sum(Aggr(Count(DISTINCT users) * number, number))/Count(DISTINCT users)

I think 1st expression might not work... but I may be wrong. 1st one should give you 9.5, whereas the second one should give you 1.9

View solution in original post

2 Replies
sunny_talwar

May be this

Avg(Aggr(Count(DISTINCT users) * number, number))

or

Sum(Aggr(Count(DISTINCT users) * number, number))/Count(DISTINCT users)

I think 1st expression might not work... but I may be wrong. 1st one should give you 9.5, whereas the second one should give you 1.9

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Hi Sunny,

I was looking for the second equation, sorry for not being clear enough but you managed anyway!

Thanks so much