Skip to main content
Announcements
Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Conditional inclusion of data in a Pivot Table...

I am new to Qlikview, so any help would be much appreciated.

I have a series of MS Excel sheets loaded into Qlikview.

I have the following fields in play:

Part ID, Price Change, and an expression field which counts the number of times the Part ID appears in the spreadsheets.

A Part ID number can be repeated several times, sometimes with the same prices attached in the database.  I need to count how many times the price change number changes, excluding a "0" value, for each unique Part ID.

How would I accomplish this?

Best Regards,

Bill.

1 Reply
Miguel_Angel_Baeyens

Hi Bill,

As a general rule on getting counters at script level, take a look, among many others at this and this threads and some others mentioned on them, where some sample and working code is posted to solve similar issues. Take a look at the following dummy script based on your description. Okay, it may seem too complex, but let's take a closer look.

DataOriginal is the source table, no calculations done so far, only data. At a first glance, we can see that there are two unique Part ID values A and B, they are not sorted in any particular order (as they will likely be retrieved from no matter the source). A has 4 different price changes, but one of them is zero and there are two equal price changes (and according to my script, I'm not counting them). B has 5 different price changes, but three of them are zero. So A should have 2 changes and B 3.

DataOriginal:
LOAD * INLINE [
Part ID, Price Change
A, 1
A, 2
B, 3
B, 2
A, 0
A, 1
B, 0
B, 0
B, 1
];

DataChanges:
LOAD "Part ID",

"Price Change",

If("Part ID" = Previous("Part ID"),

If("Price Change" <> 0,

If("Price Change" <> Previous("Price Change"), RangeSum(Peek('HasChanged'), 1), Peek('HasChanged'))
0)
0) AS HasChanged