Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
alwayslearning
Creator
Creator

CountIfs

Hi,

I am new to Qlik and so help would be much appreciated. I am trying to perform what in Excel would be CountIFS.  Counting based on multiple Columns.

I want to be able to count nulls for Multiple Columns: e.g.

GroupForenameSurnameAge
1JohnSmith51
1SamShaw21
2Harold
2Amy
3 Jones

You can see in Forename there is 1 Null, Surname has 2 and Age has 3.  I want to be able to count these nulls in various ways.

1. I want to be able to sum the null of multiple columns i.e. Forename + Surname = 3 Nulls

2. I want to be able to sum the null of multiple columns and then base it on multiple groups i.e. Forename + Surname of Group2 = 2 Nulls & Forename + Surname of Group2 +3 = 3 Nulls etc.

I've come across countif through: =count({<Field={'A','B'}>} Field), which I think is a good starting point.

Thank you.

Qlikview Novice

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MarcoWedel

Hi,

maybe this helps:

QlikCommunity_Thread_233983_Pic1.JPG

QlikCommunity_Thread_233983_Pic2.JPG

QlikCommunity_Thread_233983_Pic3.JPG

table1:

LOAD *,

-IsNull(Forename) as IsNullForename,

-IsNull(Surname)  as IsNullSurname,

-IsNull(Age)      as IsNullAge;

LOAD RecNo() as ID,

Group,

If(Len(Forename),Forename) as Forename,

If(Len(Surname),Surname)   as Surname,

If(Len(Age),Age)           as Age

FROM [https://community.qlik.com/thread/233983] (html, codepage is 1252, embedded labels, table is @1);

table2:

CrossTable (NullField, IsNull)

LOAD ID,

IsNullForename,

IsNullSurname,

IsNullAge

Resident table1;

regards

Marco

View solution in original post

11 Replies
sunny_talwar

May be these if they are not white spaces, but true nulls

1) RangeSum(NullCount(Forename), NullCount(Surname))

2) Not sure I understand your second requirement, can you elaborate?

Digvijay_Singh

I think the 2nd requirement can be met as below -