Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Easy Question on Counting Instances of a Field

Please excuse the simplicity of this question, i am just getting started using Qlikview.   I am trying to count the number of unique employees in a record based on their work group.   I can display the data in a table but i want to get a calculated number of employees so that I can use this value in further productivity calculations.   The number of employees in a group changes on a daily basis due to sick time, vacation, etc.

My data shows employee name, work center, and job type.   Example:

Joe           Meter Shop          HIB199

Joe           Meter Shop          HIB199

Joe           Meter Shop         G34555

Mary          Meter Shop         HIB199

Mary          Meter Shop        JZZRT5

James      Cafeteria             T44WTZ

Tim           Cafeteria              T44WTZ

Laura       Cafeteria              T44WTZ

I need to be able to count the number of different employees in each work center.   So Meter Shop = 2 (Joe and Mary) and Cafeteria = 3 (James, Tim, Laura)

I only need the number of employees in a work center, not the number of jobs they complete or the types of jobs.

Thank you.       

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MayilVahanan

Hi,

Use distinct count, that helps to achieve your requirement..

Thanks & Regards, Mayil Vahanan R
Please close the thread by marking correct answer & give likes if you like the post.

View solution in original post

4 Replies
MayilVahanan

HI,

You can use like this,

=WorkCenter as Dimension and Count(Distinct Name) as Expression

Hope it helps

Please close the thread by marking correct answer & give likes if you like the post.
Not applicable
Author

Unfortunately that does not work.  That result is just the number of jobs each tech does.

Using:

Work Center Scheduled as the  Dimension   

count([Employee Scheduled])  as the Expression