Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Filtering Data within a List Box

Hi all,

Greetings!! I am pretty new to QlikView. Please do help me out in this issue. I have this list box with over a thousand rows. Almost each row has  a number like '22-3-01' as a part of the sentence like  Xxxxxxxx 22-4-02 xxxxxx. I want to see the all the records which match this number format. I find it very cumbersome to filter the records by entering the above number one by one.I want to see all of them together. I tried using the function

=if(match(Column/Field Name, '22-03-01', 22-05-08',etc (15 more values)), Column/Field Name)

But it's not working.

Seeking your advice on this

9 Replies
robert_mika
Master III
Master III

Is the any pattern within your sentences so the numbers are in the same place or after specific character (space like in example above).

Then you can use any of Text function to extract your data.

post more examples to see if that will work

oknotsen
Master III
Master III

Are they always after a set position in the string?

If so, you could use a "mid" function. Example: mid('abcdef',3, 2 ) returns 'cd'.

Or are they always after a set character?

That add an "index" function at the spot of the "3" in the previous example. Example of index: index( 'abcdabcd', 'b', 2 ) returns 6.

Hope that helps.

May you live in interesting times!
Not applicable
Author

Hi Robert and Onno,

Greetings!! Thanks a lot for your replies. The problem is that there is no specific pattern to  the text in each record. The position of the number changes every time. For ex it maybe  "xxxxxx xxxxxxxx 22-3-02 xxx xx xxx" in one case and be like "xxx xxxx xx x 22-3-02 xxx xxx" in another case and so on. There is no set pattern or order unfortunately

oknotsen
Master III
Master III

Are the dashes between the numbers (the -'s) only at that spot in the string or are they used in the rest of the text?