Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Getting the name of the competitor who has the lowest price

Hi everyone

I'm new to QlikView and I have run into what I think should be a simple problem for you more experienced users.

I have a table which consists of the fields: Model, Competitor, Price

Now I want a table to tell me what the lowest price pr. model number is, and what competitor delivers the model at that price.

No problem getting the lowest price pr. model, that was just expression min(Price), but how do I get the name of the customer who supplies the product at that price?

I tried with a second expression: only({<Price={'$(=Money(min(Price)))'}>} Competitor)

This doesn't work, but if I replace $(=Money(min(Price))) with one of the minimum values, the name of the competitor for that specific model will appear.

What am I doing wrong?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
pover
Luminary Alumni
Luminary Alumni

In the Competitor field put the following expression:

concat(distinct aggr(if(min(Price)=min(total <Model> Price),Competitor),Competitor,Model),', ')

I added the concat() function in case there is a tie between 2 competitor.  In that case you will get a list of the competitors.  The aggr helps to compare the price of each competitor and model with the total min price of each model.

Karl

View solution in original post

7 Replies
pover
Luminary Alumni
Luminary Alumni

If Price is a number then the syntax should be

only({$<Price={$(=min(Price))}>} Competitor)

This will work in some cases since set analysis will give you a global minimum price and not a different minimum price per row.  You might also have to look into using the aggr() function to help make the table.  To help you more please post an example of the table you want to generate.

Karl

Not applicable
Author

Karls,

Here's the table (see also attached qvw):

ComptetitorModelPrice
ABC1100
DEF1125
GHI1150
ABC2236
DEF2234
GHI2201