Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Help with Data Modeling/Loading QVD Files

I'm very new to Qlikview and nobody in my organization really seems to understand how it works.  I'm analyzing how to make our QVDs and data model better but not sure where to start.  Allow me to give an overview of how we are doing this now -

We have a series of views in our SQL Server database which each contribute to a metric based on a source.  For example, we have a view for getting data from Great Plains/Dynamics, we have a view which pulls data from our lead-creation software, etc.  Each view is then unioned together into a single "master" view called METRICS.  We then pull the data from each individual view into their own QVD_CREATOR.qvd files.  Once these QVDs are populated, we then call the master view and pull the data into a master QVD file.

You can imagine the overhead with this approach - every time we add a new field to a view, we then have to copy/paste it to all of the other views because otherwise the UNION statement in the master view will break.  Further, each field then has to be copy/pasted into each of the corresponding QVD files.  It's a tangled mess at best and not fun to work with.

My questions:

How could this be handled better?

Can't we just pull the data from each fact table and dimension table from our data warehouse into their own QVDs and be done with this mess?  Why use views for this - wouldn't a SQL query or stored procedures be just as good?

Further, we can't we just query the database tables directly instead of bringing them into QVDs?  This seems redundant and ridiculous - we already have the data stored in a database, that's what it's for, so why should we be storing it in files just for our reports?  Seems like too much overhead.

However, if we do need QVDs, then why can't I just load them by querying the database directly instead of loading from views, then master QVD files?