Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
khigaurav999
Creator
Creator

How to Concatenate result of aggregation with an string

Hello friends,

I am very new to QlikView... I am learning and exploring it. Certainly this is an awesome tool but I am running into obstacles with this expression that calculates sum of hours and adds hrs to the value from sum/agg. sum([FUNDED_HRS]) & 'hrs'

Tried following as well but didn't get success it says "No data to display" but when I keep only sum([FUNDED_HRS]) it shows accurate number / value on data points.

- sum([FUNDED_HRS]) & ' ' &'hrs'

- concate(sum([FUNDED_HRS]) ,' ' , 'hrs')

temp.jpeg

Same issue occures on a diff. expression where I am trying to concatenate value / result of 2 diff. aggregate functions.

- Sum([Value]) & '/' & Sum([Funded_Hrs)

Sorry if it is a silly question. Please help.

Thanks in advance! 

Gaurav

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
girirajsinh
Creator III
Creator III

Hi Gaurav

You can do that in following way.

I have setup a similar case like yours.

Dim1 : Year

Dim2: Months

Object Bar Chart

Values which you intend to display in some concatenate manner above the Bars, Put it as a separate new expression.

and uncheck Bar representation for it and Check "values on data point ".

I hope you like it.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
girirajsinh
Creator III
Creator III

Hi Gaurav,

sum(field)&'hrs' ...I guess you are tying to put suffix 'hrs' to the value.

That you can do from the Number tab and define format there, as shown below

For Concating to expressions, that too should work fine.

khigaurav999
Creator
Creator
Author

girirajsinh

This is helpful. I was able to achieve suffixing 'hrs' to the value from Number tab formatting. Thank you!

However concating values of two aggr. functions doesn't work and continues to show "No data to display". This is what i am writing in the expression: Sum([TOV]) &' / '& Sum(FUNDED_HRS)