Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jensmunnichs
Creator III
Creator III

How to avoid/remove different permutations of the same combination?

Hey guys, hope you're having a great day.

I recently started using Qlikview, so I'm still new to most of this stuff, but I've already learnt a lot from these forums!

I've been experimenting with some sample data that I think came with the Qlikview installation, an Excel file called Sales Orders.xls (attached). What I want to do is find out what combination of 2 products gets sold together most often. Attached you will find my Qlikview file to see how far I've gotten so far. I'm pretty close, in fact, from the table I've made I can already tell which combinations are the most popular. Problem is, there is currently a row for both product combination A+B and combination B+A. I'm wondering how I would be able to make it so that only one of these permutations exists in my table.

To clarify what I mean:

My current table, sorted by number of occurences descending:

Product 1Product 2# of occurences
AB200
BA200
CD110
DC110
AD90
DA90

And so on. So basically, for every combination in my table, there are 2 rows that essentially tell me the same thing.

What I'm looking for:

Product 1Product 2# of occurences
AB200
CD110
AD90

What's the best way to solve this? I'm not too bothered whether I have to load the data differently or if I can solve this on the presentation side of things, by removing every 'duplicate' row from the table. I also don't really care which of the 2 permutations stays, if that makes it any easier.

Thanks in advance! Let me know if you need any more information to solve this. Also I apologise if this is a very newbie question, but I've been Googling for a bit and I couldn't find any answers anywhere.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MarcoWedel

Hi,

maybe one solution could be:

QlikCommunity_Thread_315105_Pic1.JPG