Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How to differentiate data field after linking?

Hi All,

I am having a problem in differentiating the data field after linking. I have a master table which contain information about employees. There are few tables that are attached to this table based on the Employee ID.

Now my problem is I need to draw a chart taking my dimension value from master table and counting EMPLID from a specific table. But all the tables have EMPLID as there linking criteria. How would QV chart differentitate what EMPLID values i need to count, it may be counting total EMPLID from table 1 attached to master table or from table 2 .

I can't use a Qualify statement to differentiate between EMPLID of different tables coz that is my linking field, through which it is linked to master table.

So, what is a way to differentiate from which table we need to count the EMPLID. thanks.

Any help will be appreciated . It's Urgent.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
johnw
Champion III
Champion III

Add a separate copy of the EMPLID under a different name to the table you want to count from, and count the copy.  Alternatively, if you just need a count of matching rows on the other table, count any field in that table that is NOT a key field.

View solution in original post

6 Replies
johnw
Champion III
Champion III

Add a separate copy of the EMPLID under a different name to the table you want to count from, and count the copy.  Alternatively, if you just need a count of matching rows on the other table, count any field in that table that is NOT a key field.

Not applicable
Author

Thanks for replying John. So you mean adding a load statement above select and then writing

Load EMPLID as Table1EMPLID;

Will this work?

johnw
Champion III
Champion III