Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

How to use FieldValue() for Currency Convertion

Hello,

I’m new in Qlikview. I need to implement currency conversion in order to convert the values available in a table for any of the currencies proposed (Norwegian Krone (NOK), Euro, USD or Pound (GBP), by the date (currencies rates base in monthly values) .

I have a currency rate table, with all the corresponding values for the currencies, where I have a field with the concatenated values: ‘From-To-Year-Month’ that is called exchkey.

I have tried to use the functions FieldValue() and FieldIndex() to get the corresponding Rate value from the table. At the beginning it seems to work ok, but I have realized it don’t return the correct rate value, only works for the first value in the table:

Doc NumberNet ValueRate  Net value covertedValue 'exchkey'
4400033474Kr 210000,000,078439€ 16472,19NOK-EUR-2014-1
4400033481€ 320000,001€ 320000,00EUR-EUR-2014-1
4400033485$ 20880,008,838021€ 184537,88USD-EUR-2014-1
4400033502Kr 1361840,000,078439€ 106821,37NOK-EUR-2014-1

Exch. keyExRtFromToCurr Date Exch. RateCurr yearCurr month
EUR-EUR-2014-1XRATEEUREUR201401011   20141
NOK-EUR-2014-1XRATENOKEUR201401010.119213   20141
NOK-GBP-2016-1XRATENOKGBP201601010.078439   20161
USD-EUR-2014-1XRATEUSDEUR201401010.734198   20141
USD-NOK-2016-1XRATEUSDNOK201601018.838021   20161

Could you help me with this issue?. I would like to know if there are a mistake in the way I’m using FieldValue formula, or if the currency conversion should be done in the script side and not during the expressions calculation?.

I have check another posts but I didn't found any similar case.

Attached is the example of the application I have use.

Thanks in advance.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
jonathandienst
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III