Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Import SQL Server varchar field as text containing exact value

Hi,

I am new to QlikView and am struggling somewhat with what should be really simple tasks.  I have a SQL Server database with a varchar field.  This field contains both numeric and non-numeric data.  The data should be numeric, so I am writing an exception report to detail where the field contains any non-numeric characters (which are preventing the value being cast to numeric in SQL).  So, I might have values such as '£1000', '1,000', '10%', '01/01/2017', '1 abc', '1000.25', or '1000'.  In SQL Server, only the last 2 values can be cast, and all of the others should be included in the report.

The problem I have is that Qlik seems to recognise all of those as numbers, and I am just getting the numeric value loaded into my file.  So, '1,000' is displayed as 1000 (without the comma).  I cannot format the numbers to include the missing characters, as not all of the errors are due to the same character.

I need to be able to display the exact text as stored in SQL Server so that the report user will understand why the record appears on the report.  I have tried to find a text function in the script editor to force this at load stage, and I get a message saying the built in text function does not exist (this is the solution I find in most forums, but does not help me unfortunately).  I cannot use the function in the chart expressions, as this only converts the loaded value to text, so I am still missing the commas and £ signs etc. So, I am hoping someone out there can assist.  I am using QlikView 11 and SQL Server 2012.

Many thanks in advance.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
jonathandienst
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

The Text() must be in the LOAD part of the statement, not in the SQL part. Like this

Data:

LOAD

Text(myField) as LiteralTextValue,