Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Joining in Qlikview

Hi,

I'm new to qlikview and i know that qlikview  provides automatic association between the tables when the field headers are same  from both the table. I'm trying to create a reports and dashboards for HDFS data by establishing hive ODBC connection and i'm able to connect to hive and query the data and able to create sample report as well.

Here i'm query is suppose if you want to join a 2 tables, Qlikview provides automatic association when the headers are same. Suppose if you want to join 3 tables(or more tables) in a single sheet , just loading the 3 tables will yield the proper result or do we need to manually modify the script?

For example ,if i have a 3 tables like below:

ordercustomerproduct
orderIDcustomerIDproductID
customerIDcust_desprod_des
productIDaddressquantity
dayID

In this case, in my report i wanted to have the fields like orderID,cust_des and prod_des. So just loading these 3 tables give the proper output?

2) My 2nd query is how creating report and dashboard is different in qlikview. Is there any seperate widget to create dashboard/ So how can i create dashboard in qlikview? (steps)

Thanks,

Shree

12 Replies
Gysbert_Wassenaar

1. If you load only those three fields from the three tables then Qlikview will create one table with all the records from the three tables.

2. A dashboard is a sheet in Qlikview with some sheet objects on it so that the user can see information and interact with the data, for example by making selections. In Qlikview a report is something that can be printed. The report builder of Qlikview is very limited. But then, the idea is to let users interact with data in such a way that generating paper with lists of numbers is no longer necessary.

talk is cheap, supply exceeds demand
Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Hi,