cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Hypersnooze
Contributor II
Contributor II

Making an expression bypass filters

Hi there, I'm quite new to QV but try to get my head around it.

I've got a database where I register people attending various events. Each event has a different date, and some people attend several events. When I wish to export my list of people attending these events, I only wish to show the date of the first event they attended.

So I wrote this line in an expression: 
FirstSortedValue(Distinct StartDate,PersonID)
This line allows me to view the date only of the first event they attended.

However, my problem is that once I start using filters like "Month" or "Year", my diagram only shows the people that attended events during that month.

For example, lets say I have 6 people. 3 of them attended an event in June, but all 6 attended an event in July. That'd make my list show:

without filter:
3 users with 2019-06-01 and 3 users with 2019-07-01.

with filter (lets say for July)
3 users with 2019-07-01.

However, when showing people for July I still want the 3 persons showing from June, as they too attended the event in July. But when I use filter for July, those 3 people are not showing as their start date was not in July, it was in June. But I want all 6 people showing with the correct start date.

So I messed around with some stuff I found on the forums. Mainly using stuff like
FirstSortedValue({<$StartDate={'Year','Month'}>}Distinct StartDate,PersonID)

But I realize I have no idea of what I'm doing.

The diagram I'm using has 1 dimension and several expressions, but I only want THIS expression to bypass the selected filters (atleast month and year), and instead show the date of which a person attended his/her first event.

I realize all this probably makes NO SENSE what so ever... but I hope anyone can help.

Labels (3)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Miguel_Angel_Baeyens