Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

New to Qlik, typical Excel like question

Hi, I'm fairly new to Qlik and I consider myself to be a power Excel User along with Data pull capabilities within SQL. But that's probably as far as my skill set is currently. So my organization is in the process of adopting Qlik as being their new main reporting tool and I've fortunately been tasked with converting all of these wonderful Excel Reports into something more manageable with drill down capabilities once connected to the data source.

So my question is a typical Excel like question, where I was having difficulties understanding how to utilize a Dynamic Value within an Expression but to specify what single Value within said expression. So what I mean specifically is that I have something you'd be accustomed to seeing such as Sales within Various Regions. However, not all of my sales have been captured or tagged appropriately to a given region.

So to be even/fair, I want to redistribute that value back to the other regions based on the percentage distribution of the regions. Confused yet? It's really not that bad.

Here is what I mean:

QlikQuestion.PNG

So as you can see above I have my Product Sum Distribution in the 6th column and essentially I just want to multiply that value to the Region 'No State Attached' (So for this given period, it is 687) and basically I want a 7th column that lists 687 multiplied to column 6. Obviously I need this to be dynamic so that when I change my Period (Column 1) everything adjusts to the new value of RGN='No State Attached' I tried to google search this and I didn't come up with anything.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, and again I'm pretty new but I feel like this is something I might have to do quite bit given the reports that I am working with.

Best, Bryan.