Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Poisitve & Negative totals on one graph?

Hello All, 1st post on here. I am a total newbie to Qlik. I have a data set that contains a large amount of positive and negative values. I currently have a dashboard 1/2 built that displays these individual values in a table which I need to show.

I would then like to sum all the positive then separately all the negative values to return 2 separate totals. One long one short that I could then display on a bar chart which is in my mind the best way to display but open to any suggestions.

Is anyone able to assist me with a method for doing this?

Thanks

Rich

10 Replies
adamdavi3s
Master
Master

sum(if(value >=0,value)

and

sum(if(value <0,value)

as two expressions might do the trick?

Please see attached for an example

Not applicable
Author

Hi Richard,

Can you send any sample data.

you mean like this,

2017-01-05_1852.png

Not applicable
Author

Thanks very much for your responses. That was surprisingly quick!

Adam - I think because at this time I just have a personal license it is not letting me open the example. Couldn't get the formula to work.

Cant send over a sample of the data but effectively would be a simple table as below.

Account     Balance

A               100,000

B               200,000

C               200,000

D             - 100,000

E             - 200,000    

F             - 200,000

I would then like to generate a bar chart that totals up the long and short balances, showing a bar that displays a positive value of + 500,000 and a bar that displays a negative value of - 500,0000

Not applicable
Author

Ah just seen your graph example - exactly like that

Not applicable
Author

Hi Richard,

in chart properties ,

1.just leave dimensions put empty ike,

dimenssion.png

In Expression tab,

1st Exp =>     =sum( if(Balance>0,Balance))

2nd Exp=>     =sum( if(Balance<0,Balance))  like

Expressions.png