Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Section Access query

Hi, I am new to qlikview and have a doubt with section access.

So, what i am looking for is a simple section access security with user id, password and OMIT options. I want a particular user to to view a certain fields.

To make it clear. Lets take an example.

I have a field called country which has 10 countries(US, GBR etc) as drop down. If I use OMIT in section access, i believe I can hide a particular field. In my case, if I omit country. the entire country field will be invisible. But, what I want is to omit a particular country from the field. ie: if i want to omit only GBR from the list of countries, how do I do it?

Can somebody help me with this?

Thanks in advance

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
IAMDV
Luminary Alumni
Luminary Alumni

Hi,

You are right, using OMIT the User will not see the field. Rather you need to use Field reduction. Something like this...

SECTION ACCESS;

LOAD * INLINE [

ACCESS, USERID, PASSWORD, COUNTRY

ADMIN, ADMIN, ADMIN,

USER, USER1, U1, USA

USER, USER2, U2, FRANCE

USER, USER3, U3, GBR

USER, USER3, U4, USA

USER, USER3, U4, FRANCE

USER, USER5, U5, *

];

Explanation :

USER1 will only see USA

USER2 will only see FRANCE

USER3 will only see GBR

USER4 will see everything except GBR (There are two rows in the above example, you need to add 9 rows in your case)

USER5 will see everything because I'm using "*" (Wild Card)

Please be very careful using the '*' (Wildcard) because it doesn't mean all the values in the Actual Field. It means distinct values you have specified in Section Access Table. Unless you have specified all the distinct values within Section Access.