Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Set Analysis Issues

Hello Community,

I am fairly new to Qlikview, having only been using it for about 3 weeks. I am having a set analysis issue. I am trying to create an expression that returns a column with a running daily average based on a transaction code dimension. My code is as follows:

Sum ({

<[Day of Week]=

{"=$(=num(

weekday(

date(

date#(

vSpecifyDate, 'MM-DD-YYYY')

,'MM-DD-YYYY'))))

"}

>

} Frequency)

With [Day of the Week] being a dimension referencing a weekday like Monday, Tuesday.... in a numeric or text form. vSpecifyDate is a variable that references a date value in an input box, and Frequency being the numeric dimension I am trying to sum. While the table is sorted on a transaction code dimension.

Ultimately I will use this expression to identify and highlight statistical outlier cells in a straight table. At the moment I am trying to create a column in a straight table that will return the correctly summed value for Frequency. My issue is this: the expression =num(weekday(date(date#(vSpecifyDate, 'MM-DD-YYYY'),'MM-DD-YYYY'))) successfully returns a number that corresponds with a specific day of the week. However when put it in the larger expression it will not correctly return that day of the week's average frequency value, instead it will return the entire summed frequency value. When I delete  =num(weekday(date(date#(vSpecifyDate, 'MM-DD-YYYY'),'MM-DD-YYYY'))) and replace it with the same number that it returns, my larger expression will correctly sum only that day of the week.

Would any of you have any ideas why this occurs?  Or how to fix it so that the set analysis works?