Announcements
Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Setting up Data Model using QVD and incremental loading

Hi, I'm in the beginning stage of developing my first QV dashboard. I have one years data and it is of very large size. The data is basically of tickets resolved every month and the one's still open currently. There are four tables (TicketDetails, CustomerDetails, AssigneeDetails & Category) and my idea is to save a QVD containing all these tables for all the resolved tickets month-wise(as they remain static), then have another set of same four tables for all the open tickets and the new ones that are submitted (incremental loading). I'm banking on auto-number for using as KEY.

Can someone please help me on how to go about setting this data model as I have seen multiple blogs on issues with auto-number and QVD combination? (I'm a complete newbie) if there are any better ways to model this, your suggestions would be highly appreciated.

Waiting with anticipation.

Best Regards,

Tony

6 Replies
jonathandienst
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

Hi

I recommend that you look at concatenating the resolved tickets and open tickets into the same table, and add a status field during load containing either 'open' or 'resolved'. The QVDs can remain as separate files, as that may simplify the management of that information.

Be careful with autonumber and incremental loading. The autonumber is unique for that reload run only - you cannot store the key in the QVD and then load the QVD and use autonumber to create additional keys - they will not be unique.

And I assume that you are aware that each QVD can store a single table only.

HTH

Jonathan

Logic will get you from a to b. Imagination will take you everywhere. - A Einstein
Not applicable
Author

Hi Jonathan,