cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
haneeshmarella
Creator II
Creator II

String Conversion to Date, Time, Timestamp in certain format

Hi guys, I am pretty new to Qlikview. Please help with below question.

I have two string fields for date and time.

DATE_CREATED: yyyymmdd

TIME_CREATED: hhmmss

I converted date string to Date format using

Date(Date#("DATE_CREATED",'YYYYMMDD'),'MM/DD/YYYY')

I converted time string to time format using (not sure if this is correct)

Time(Time#("TIME_CREATED",'HHMMSS'),'HH:MM:SS TT')

My requirement is:

1. Convert the time above to just hours only. ie. If 11:20:02 AM has count 10 and 11:30:32 AM has count 20, I want both to be 11 AM and be a single row adding the calculation for that field into one i.e 30.

2. After getting the hours format above, I would like to concatenate the DATE_CREATED and TIME_CREATED into one field. For this, I have used the below but I get results with future times and dates also which is wrong.

TimeStamp(Floor(TimeStamp#(DATE_CREATED&TIME_CREATED, 'YYYYMMDDhhmmss'), 1/24), 'MM/DD/YYYY hh') as Date_Time

and

Timestamp(Date#("DATE_CREATED"&"TIME_CREATED",'YYYYMMDD HHMMSS'),'MM/DD/YYYY HH TT') AS Date_Time

3. After concatenating above in step 2, I would get the time in EST. I would like to make it Central Time by subtracting 1 hour to the result. Please let me know how to do it.

Please help guiding me in the above 3 questions.

7 Replies
shiveshsingh
Master
Master

This can help for your first problem

Time(Time#("TIME_CREATED",'hhmmss'),'hh') as Hour

Anil_Babu_Samineni

What if you do something like this?

Date(Date#("DATE_CREATED",'YYYYMMDD'),'MM/DD/YYYY') &

Interval(Time#("TIME_CREATED",'HHMMSS'),'HH') as Final_Date_Format

Best Anil, When applicable please mark the correct/appropriate replies as "solution" (you can mark up to 3 "solutions". Please LIKE threads if the provided solution is helpful
haneeshmarella
Creator II
Creator II
Author