Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Use loaded data for calculations

hi, i'm new to qlikview and fighting with a little problem.

i'm loading data and transforming it with a formular and name it as value1, value2

afterwards i what to calculate a value 3 which is the difference between the two values.

value1

makedate(year(left(datecomplete,10)),month(left(datacomplete,10)),day(left(datecomplete,10))) AS VALUE1

value2

the same als value 1, just from a different field

if i'm using now the formulare

networkdays(value1,value2),

the script they no value 1

any ideas?

thanks for your help.

florian

9 Replies
kaushiknsolanki
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi,

Qlikview returns the correct answer.

Let me explain.

As you said you have Value1 and Value2 same as Value1.

So consider that your Value1 is 2011-01-01 so your value2 will be the same i.e 2011-01-01.

Now when you use Networkdays(Value1,Value2). If we put values in this expression, it becomes.

Networkdays(2011-01-01,2011-01-01)

So the result of the above expression is 1. As there is only one day in this.

Syntax of Networkdays()  is

networkdays ( start:date, end_date {, holiday} )

Hope you understood.

Regards,

Kaushik Solanki

Please remember to hit the 'Like' button and for helpful answers and resolutions, click on the 'Accept As Solution' button. Cheers!
Not applicable
Author

thanks for the answer, but the problem is a differnet one.

let me try to explain it again.

value 1 is always before value 2

the transromation process before is needed as the values which i get from the db is not usabel

value 1: 2011-01-01, value 2: 2011-01-03

value 3: should be 2

thanks for your help

kaushiknsolanki
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Hi,

Can you please elobrate the problem as i am not clear with what ever you said.

Please use example if possible.

Regards,

Kaushik Solanki