cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Using expressions in Graphs

Hi,

I am new to QlikView and having one issue while designing graphs. The issue is

I had a graph objects which display the sales data for the selected year and year - 1. The expresssions are as below.

Sum

({$<Year={$(=Max(Year))}>} [sales]) and Sum({$<Year={$(=Max(Year)-1)}>} [sales])

This works absolutely fine. Now I have added one expression to this. Here the ReportOn field is from an inline table which has no relation to the sales table.

if

if(ReportOn='Ledger',Sum({$<Year={$(=Max(Year)-1)}>} [Ledger sales]),Sum({$<Year={$(=Max(Year)-1)}>} [sales]))

This works only when I have not selected any date related filters in my report. If I select a date related filter (say 2009), only the first one works and second one doesn't refresh data. It always gives the [sales] column value.

Is there anything that I am missing in my expressions?

Regards,

Murali

(ReportOn='Ledger',Sum({$<Year={$(=Max(Year))}>} [Ledger sales]),Sum({$<Year={$(=Max(Year))}>} [sales]))

11 Replies
shumailh
Creator III
Creator III

Hi Murali,

Check your Year field. This is working fine with me see the attachment.

Shumail

Not applicable
Author

Hi Shumail,

Thanks for the quick response. I have updated your qvw file with the problem I am facing. Attached is the updated date.

Please note when I select a year and change the 'Report On' value, in the graph, only the selected year values are updating not the year-1 value.

Is this the default functionality of QlikView?

Regards,

Murali

Not applicable
Author

Hi All,

Could any one please help me with the above query.

I got struck with this and need to give an update on this ASAP.

If this is not possible using the existing table structure then please let me know.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Murali

Not applicable
Author

Hi Murali,