Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
datagrrl
Creator III
Creator III

Using filtered value across different dimensions

Good Morning-

I am new to Qlikview and would like to know how to get the following scenario to work.

Basically when I select the Airport I am really selecting the "Destination Airport". I want to be able to use this value and get the destination airports that this Airport id the Origin Airport as well.

MockUp.PNG

The above data is a mock up, so the field names might not might ot make sense.

This is a simple model of the data

Route.PNG

I tried a few things and I can get the value I want to use as a filter from this: Subfield(GetCurrentSelections([DestAirport]),':',2)

I am just haveing a hard time understanding how I can get that value as a filter on my second table (Flights from OHR).

Any suggestions or help is appreciated.

Message was edited by: Randi Borys Mispell

6 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

Have you tried having 2 independent List boxes ?

• One for DestAiport
  • The other for OriginAirport
datagrrl
Creator III
Creator III
Author

By this do you mean somehow hiding the second one?

That might work. I didn't think of this.

The requirement is pretty much as I outlined above, so I need to end up with one list box visible to the user.

Anonymous
Not applicable

That is not what I meant, I suspect I misunderstand what you are trying to achieve.

Do you have a single table and within that do you want to be able to select rows where :

Either    

DestAiport          = selected airport

or

OriginAirport       = same select airport

datagrrl
Creator III
Creator III
Author

That is an option, but the formatting to the requirement is probably going to be harder.

OneTable.PNG

So yes, I have a single Fact Table. The value that I am filtering on is the actually ID in the fact table, DestAirportID.

I also want to see, in a separate table if possible all of the routes where this DestAirportID is the OriginAirportID.