Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Where's the best place to manipulate data?

I am working on a EOQ project for inventory and am pulling data from a JDE DB. I am very new to Qlikview andam confused/curious about where or how you can manipulate data with formulas. For my EOQ formula I need:

D, Ave Annual Demand

S, Setup Time

I, Carrying Cost

C, Unit cost

All of which should be linked via common Item number and Branch number. I can calculate Ave Annual demand based off of a sales table within my JDE DB, and I am using a formula to get from each individual sale to ave annual demand. Similarly, my setup time is determined by averging setup times from another JDE table. Unit cost can be pulled from the same table as the Sales. Also, I built and connected an excel file that relates branch number to respective carrying cost.

So my question is:

How can I combine all of these values into one formula that looks like this, (2DS/IC)^(1/2), that is lined to both Item Number and Branch Number?

Should I join them all into one table and apply the formula there?

or

Should I try to write the formula in the expression page of the chart wizard?

or

Is the an alternate location or method in which one can apply mathematical formulas?

Thanks.

10 Replies
Not applicable
Author

Hi,

it is nearly impossible to say exactly where to put your expressions.

According to my experiences

- if possible, these calculations should be done in the load-script rather than in charts. It ts almost better "wasting" load-time (at night) as let the users wait while calculating

- try to build a star schema with a facts-table and dimension tables

- QV-tables can be easily linked together with same fieldnames (take care of casesensitiv)