Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
llefever
Contributor II
Contributor II

clarify how cmdln variable gets used within qvw-file

I'm new to QlikView.  I've just taken over maintenance of a big project from a now-former colleague.

I need to determine how a variable he's setting on the cmdln in a batch-script (using the "/v" option) get's used within the relevant qvw-file, so I can add a variable and set a different dimension similarly.

I see the variable defined (with a static default value) in "Variable Overview", and I see it being used in an expression in "Expression Overview" (not associated with any Sheet, so apparently it's a global variable), but, beyond that, I don't see how any value for that variable (that might be set on the cmdln) get's associated with any dimension or UI-component on the relevant Sheet.

I do see a UI-component (a search component) that set's the value of the dimension that I'm concerned with, based on a value chosen from a list of suggested values, but I don't see there any mention of the relevant variable; so, I don't see how any value set on the cmdln could get set for that dimension, though it seems to be happening somehow.  I don't see the relevant variable mentioned anywhere else, in any of the dialogs in QlikView when the relevant qvw-file is loaded into it.

I don't have any code to show.

So, this is really a general matter of how to use a variable set at the cmdln.  I'm clear about how to set it at the cmdln; I'm just not clear about how to then make use of it within the qvw-file.

Assistance would be much appreciated.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
llefever
Contributor II
Contributor II
Author

I've finally found the answer to my own question.

The variable is noted as set within Document Properties => Triggers => OnOpen => Select In Field.