Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

empty cells not recognised as null

Hi there!

I'm a newbie in qlikview and have been encountering issues on loading excel datasets extracted from a software (using SQL). As I'm checking completeness of data, null values (ie., empty cell with absolutely no characters) are what I'm really after. However, empty cells are not recognised as null by qlikview. I'm trying to avoid cleaning up the dataset first before loading to qlikview due to huge amount of data.

Thanks for your valuable input.

Regards

nyarky

18 Replies
robert_mika
Master III
Master III

Can you describe what you are doing to check your data set?

Here is article how QLikview handles NULL

NULL – The Invisible Nothing

Not applicable
Author

ya, check with isnull() or len(field)>0

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Hi Nyarky,

Is this Null value accountable in your report? If so convert the Null as zero and load the data. You can convert the Null as zero in load script itself. Please refer the below link for this activity

Substitute Zero for NULL Value

Regards,

Nandha

jonathandienst
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

And a detailed white paper can be found here: NULL handling in QlikView

Logic will get you from a to b. Imagination will take you everywhere. - A Einstein
Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

Hi,

In script add this,

NULLASVALUE fieldname;
Set NullValue = 0;

Empty cells it will show 0

Not applicable
Author

Hello

Thank you all for your input.

@Robert Mika: As I am checking for the completeness of my data prior to quality check, I notice that there are data fields that appear 100% complete even if i know they there are empty cells (null data).

I'm afraid I can use zero as i have fields that have zero as a category or type.

thanks again for the valuable comment.

MarcoWedel