Qlik Community

New to QlikView

Discussion board where members can get started with QlikView.

Not applicable

simple expressions

I have a pivot table with three expressions.  I would like to sum together the result of these three expressions into a new 4th expression.  Is there a way to pull the results from the first three into the new expression, or do i just have to replicate the first three computations inside the new expression?

for example:

A+B=C

X-Y=D

K(5)/X=M

I would like to learn how to write an expression C+D+M.

Or is there a better way to get it into the pivot table other than an expression?  Be gentle I am just an accountant.  I see some of the questions some of you post and it looks like hieroglyphs.....and very impressive ones at that.

Thank you in advance for any replys.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
sebastiandperei
Valued Contributor

Re: simple expressions

Matt,

In first place, if your expression label has special characters (in this case, the space in Total Value), you must use []

For example: [Total Value]+[Overhead]

In second place, you can't use Sum([Total Value]), because [Total Values] is only a value, the result of the expression in this cell of the table. You only can use the label (or column()) in arithmetic operations, or with OTHER expression.

For Example: [Total Value] + Avg(Tax)

12 Replies
sebastiandperei
Valued Contributor

Hi john,

You must put a Label of each expression. Then, in fourth expression, use the names:

Expression1: Sum(field1)

Expression2: Avg(field2)

Expression3: Count(field3)

Expression4: (Expression1/Expression2)+Expression3

Remind to use exactly the same labels.

rajni_batra
Valued Contributor

use column(1)+column(2)+column(3)

sebastiandperei
Valued Contributor

Use the names. If you change the expression order, you will must modify the expression4

Not applicable

Hi John,

Follow Sebastian suggestion. Give particular name to each expression and just use that name in the 4th expression like