cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

understanding the 'num#' function

Hi Guys,

I'm still a qlikview newbie, so please forgive me for my questions.

I don't know how the num# function works.

I have 2 fields which qlikview interpetes as text: Population and "% of world population"

China has a population of   1,339,724,852. How can I use the num# function to translate it to numbers. Does eachnumber represents a

'#' so I my case it would be #.###.###.###. I've tried that but that didn't work.

As far for % world population most countries have a population of 0,000000x%. '#,######%' that unfortunatelly not correct.

Can someone please explain how to use the num# function. I've read the Qlikview refference but didn't understand it.

What the difference between num and num#?

I don't want to change the SET settings, because I want to learn how the num# function works.

Please Help!!

Isam

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
swuehl
MVP
MVP

Hi iSam,

as we say, there are no stupid questions, only stupid answers 😉

The second parameter '#.' is not the millions separator (as Miguel aready said), it's the format code. There are no special millions, billions etc. separators, the thousands separator is just reused for that.

I slightly disagree with Miguel with respect to the format code, I think '#.#' (or even '#') does make sense, because I personally want to read in the value as close to the original as possible (in most cases). So I want to get any number of digits before and any number of digits after the decimal point which come in from original source. Besides that, it seems that '#' and '#,##0.00' format codes don't make much of a difference when parsing numbers in, see attached and below.

I want to format the number only for the output, maybe like num(numPopulation,'#,##0.00'), though I don't think decimal places in a population number are useful.