Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
bilzekek
Contributor III
Contributor III

Concatenate/Union multiple source table (landing) into 1 "Fact" table

Hi,

I am new to Qlik Compose and is playing around in the software.

I have 1 Replicate task (CDC, apply changes) that is transferring data from the 5 source tables to landing zone on DWH (MS SQL). I want to combine/Concatenate these 5 tables into 1 Fact table, preferably using CDC ETL (i.e. utilizing that the data is flowing from Source to Landing by Replicate - so keep the data flowing up till the data mart).

In the Model step, I have defined the 1 Fact table.

In the DWH step, it seems I have to use the "Query" option in Source type.

This doesnt seem the correct approach as it does not seem to exploit the CDC features of Compose (?). Am I designing this the right way? 

Or, would you keep the data normalized in the DWH and instead de-normalize into 1 Fact table in the Data mart step? And if so, how would you do this

Thanks.

Labels (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
TimGarrod
Employee
Employee

Hello, in general, your approach is correct.  Curate and map the data to a conformed model  - so that the data mart is automated and can be built by developers or even analysts as required. 

Sound like your requirement is a UNION ALL and there are 2 approaches to this in Compose that support the CDC features. 

• Option 1 - Multiple Mappings

• Create a mapping for source source table to the target DWH model  /structure
    • These mappings can be run in their own Task or you can combine them into a single task
    • When in a single task - Compose will load all the data from the 5 source tables into the TSTG_XXX table (this is a staging table to get a static set of data to process). 
    • Then Compose will process the entire data set together. 
    • This simulates a UNION ALL approach and CDC processing from _CT tables is fully supported.