Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Blunck-TotalFitouts
Contributor III
Contributor III

Restful API help - complete novice!

Hi everyone 🙂

I am need of some assistance setting up a restful API to our companies job management software, SimPro.

Here is there doco page - https://developer.simprogroup.com/apidoc/?page=57be307ee1bd93b729fdc4c13f15e201

I have attempted, for days now, literally, trying to make a restful API connection to SimPro using the wizard in QlikSense.  But I have failed, too many times to count!

Can someone help me out?

Thanks in advance!

Carl

Labels (1)
7 Replies
Mehrnaz
Contributor
Contributor

Hi Carl,

I am not familiar with SimPro. I am pretty new too, but I have created  a couple API  connections in my app successfully. Some simple ones with key and some that required Bearer tokens.

Looking at your API documentations, I see that you need the followings to be added:

Authorization                   you have to check the documentations to see what goes here

Content-Type                   application/json

In one of my POST connections, I have added them under "Query headers" section.

The documentation page seems to have a lot of useful content. It is worth to go through examples in there.

Just a couple things that comes to my mind:

Are you prefixing the following before the endpoint url (<client> should be replaced with the name of whatever server they assigned to your company):

https://<client>.simprosuite.com/api/

Pay attention to the type of call (POST vs GET) If it's a post, you might need to add a body.

When you say "it doesn't work", what exactly doesn't work? I would suggest you try to hit the endpoint using "Postman". If successful, then the endpoint with your key works fine and you just have to fiddle with your script/wizard.

If the API runs fine and the load doesn't work, then the connector works and the script needs a bit of work.

Hope this helps.

Good Luck!

Mehrnaz

Blunck-TotalFitouts