Qlik Community

Qlik DataMarket Discussions

Discussion Board for collaboration regarding Qlik DataMarket.

Not applicable

Errors in Sample X records from the chart script

Hi Experts,

I am new to Qlik VB script. I created following script based on my understanding on my knowledge with VBA. I then saved this script in Edit Module and linked the action to a button so every time I click the button it could randomly select x samples from the chart.

Following is my script. All I am trying to do is to randomly generate a row number and put that row number in an array so I can check if that sample is already selected.

The check function in Qlikview did not note any syntax errors. However when I actually click the button, it always open the Edit Module without doing any sampling. Would someone be able to point out anything incorrect in my script and how to fix. I think the vPopulationSize = FieldValueCount("RecordNumber") was not correct but wasn't sure why. Please help!

Thank you!

SUB SelectRandom

'Clear any exsiting selection on Record Number

ActiveDocument.Fields("RecordNumber").Clear

'Pulls in the sample size from the slider

vSampleSize = CInt(ActiveDocument.Variables("vAuditSelect").GetContent.String)

vPopulationSize = ActiveDocument.Evaluate("FieldValueCount('RecordNumber')")

IF vPopulationSize < vSampleSize Then msgbox ("Sample size can not be more than population size")

vSelectedCount = 0

vSampleRow = 0

' define an array to store the list of selected record number

dim vArray_RcrdNbr(60)

v_RcrdNbr = 0

v_break = 0

While vSelectedCount < vSampleSize

vSampleRow = ActiveDocument.Evaluate("ceil(" & Rnd() & " * " & vPopulationSize&")")

'check if the random sample has been selected in the previous selection, if yes, set the v_break flag to 1

For each v_RcrdNbr in vArray_RcrdNbr

If vSampleRow = v_RcrdNbr Then v_break = 1

Next

msgbox(vSampleRow)

IF v_break = 0 Then

'Selects a record number in the range of records present in the dataset