Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gerald_lebret
Partner - Creator
Partner - Creator

Calculated fields result not showing in reports

Hi all,

I am pretty new to Nprinting and need someone's help.

I am using pixel perfect to create a report.

I have created a lot of calculated fields that I want to use in a table.

For instance, I have a formula for the number of days in january and a formula with the sales for january. Then I created a calculated field to calculate the sales/day.

For some reason, If I add into my table the 2 formulas and the calculated field. It works fine.

However, if I only show the calculated fields, it does not appear at all.

Can anyone please help? I am a bit stuck.

I also have a problem because whenever the result of a calculated field = 0, Nprinting report shows blank and not 0

The first problem is the most important one and any help would be highly appreciated.

Thank you.

Best regards.

Gerald

Labels (2)
2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
Lech_Miszkiewicz
Partner Ambassador/MVP
Partner Ambassador/MVP

Well, I am not sure whats the problem?

Yes you need to use set analysis for each month, thats the workaround we know we have to take.

So to create what you have shown I would create an island dimension in my data model:

Load
    Dual(Dim_txt,Dim_no) as Dim
;
Inline
    [
        Dim_no, Dim_txt
        1,      Sales
        2,      Cost
        3,      Margin
    ]
;

I would also create variables for my measures as in this case I can use variables with parameters:

Set vSales  = Sum({<Month={$1}>}Sales);
Set vCost   = Sum({<Month={$1}>}Cost);
Set vMargin = $(vSales($1))-$(vCost($1));

And after reload I would:

• create a straight table object
  • add Dim as my dimension
  • add my measures (obviously parameter 1 i used can only be used in scenarios where you have numerical months... but at the same time you may just put "Jan" for january... 

Pick(Dim,
    $(vSales(1)),
    $(vCost(1)),
    $(vMargin(1))
)