Qlik Community

Ask a Question

Qlik NPrinting Discussions

Discussion Board for collaboration on Qlik NPrinting.

Announcements
May 18th, Changes to the way you login: using email vs. username. READ DETAILS/WATCH VIDEO
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
danielgargiulo
Partner
Partner

On Demand - unable to connect to server

@Frank_S  see below for the question in a new thread

 

Issue: When we put selections in the Qlik App and no filters in NPrinting then we get the error (see images below). Note: When we have filters set up in NPrinting on the report and User and NO selections are made in the Qlik App then it runs fine

Qlik Sense Enterprise: Nov 2018 - Secure Site

Qlik nPrinting: April 2019 - Unsecured Site

 

Any thoughts are appreciated.

 

NPrinting Pop Up ErrorNPrinting Pop Up ErrorDev Tools Error MessageDev Tools Error Message

 

 

Labels (2)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
danielgargiulo
Partner
Partner
Author

We (our team and Qlik) have found the cause of the issue: The On-Demand Extension, when a selection is made,  appears to have an upper limit on the number of distinct values from an originating field (10,000).  Qlik can see a similar case and bug which was reported earlier this month, and the R&D team have since made changes to the extension to resolve this upper limit issue. This is expected to be fixed in the next June 2019 release of Qlik Sense Enterprise.  

View solution in original post

24 Replies
Frank_S
Support
Support

Thanks @danielgargiulo 

This is great info and appreciate that you started this new separate thread.

1. Make sure that your Qlik Sense hub address is added as a trusted origin in the NPrinting web console under Admin>Settings>On Demand>Trusted origins

make sure to add your Qlik Sense server address to the trusted origin list

2. Check the connection string in the On Demand report object in your Qlik Sense app. You will need to re-associate your NP server connection to the NP App. If a / is not appended to the end of the server connection string, please add it.

ie: ttps://NPrintingServer:4993/

For more information on point 2, check this article https://support.qlik.com/articles/000065283

Refreshing the connection inside the On Demand object should fix it.

We are just 'like' you and like to be liked when providing a helpful answer. You may also press the 'Solution Accepted' button if an answer provided resolves your question or issue... Cheers!
danielgargiulo
Partner
Partner
Author

Hey,

Point 1: we have added it to the trusted origins however the address keeps shortening to their friendly name eg removes the hub part. 

Point 2: we have now added the '/' however are still experiencing the same issue.

 

Dan

 

 

Frank_S
Support
Support

Try adding and configuring a second On Demand object. 

It may be necessary to replace the object entirely to get it to work normally.

If replacing the object works, then simply remove the original object and continue with the new one.

If that doesn't work, then you will need to contact the Qlik Support desk or your Qlik Support partner to look into it further. Hopefully my final suggestion to add a new object and replace the original will work for you however.

We are just 'like' you and like to be liked when providing a helpful answer. You may also press the 'Solution Accepted' button if an answer provided resolves your question or issue... Cheers!
danielgargiulo
Partner
Partner
Author

Hi Frank,

Thanks for the support to date. We have tried adding a new object and get the same error. We have a case logged with Qlik support.

The link you sent had a further link to this article: https://support.qlik.com/articles/00006055

- This article has the section below. The authentication providers is OKTA (Saml), could that cause an issue? It seems strange if it is the issue as it works fine when no filters are applied in the Qlik App.

Un-supported authentication methods are as follows:

  1. JWT and QS NP On Demand
  2. SAML and QS NP On Demand

NOTE: Windows NTLM auth is the only supported authentication method with Qlik Sense with NPrinting On-Demand. Remove any 3rd party or Qlik On-Demand Extension before installing new version. 

 

Thanks,

Dan

 

Frank_S
Support
Support

Ok...you just gave me another clue.

"It seems strange if it is the issue as it works fine when no filters are applied in the Qlik App".

I missed this point in your original description above.

If it is working with no selections but fails with selections, you need to follow this article I just wrote today:

How to manage Qlik Sense NPrinting On Demand "Request Failed" message https://support.qlik.com/articles/000074356

Otherwise, we'll have to help you directly in the support case that you submitted if this latest suggested solution doesn't work for you.

We are just 'like' you and like to be liked when providing a helpful answer. You may also press the 'Solution Accepted' button if an answer provided resolves your question or issue... Cheers!
danielgargiulo
Partner
Partner
Author

HI Frank,

I have just checked again and we have no filters on the report or user.

The support case is: 01644711

Thanks,

Dan

Frank_S
Support
Support

Ok...I've left a comment on the case for my APAC colleagues regarding this thread and advised them to review this thread as well.

Best...fs

We are just 'like' you and like to be liked when providing a helpful answer. You may also press the 'Solution Accepted' button if an answer provided resolves your question or issue... Cheers!
mehdibassam
Partner
Partner

Hi @Frank_S ,

 

Mehdi here from the Acumen BI team. Further to this conversation, can you please give us the recommended specs for an NPritning SSL Cert?

 

Regards

Frank_S
Support
Support

Hi @mehdibassam 

Please start a new thread to ask your question about SSL certificates and or check Qlik Help which contains your answer. 

https://help.qlik.com/en-US/nprinting/April2019/Content/NPrinting/DeployingQVNprinting/Platform-secu...

We are just 'like' you and like to be liked when providing a helpful answer. You may also press the 'Solution Accepted' button if an answer provided resolves your question or issue... Cheers!