Qlik Community

Ask a Question

Qlik NPrinting Discussions

Discussion Board for collaboration on Qlik NPrinting.

Announcements
Join us March 10th, 7 Ways Modern Analytics Can Help You Take Smarter Action. REGISTER NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
hopkinsc
Partner
Partner

Recipient Import question

Hi all,

I have a problem that i am hoping someone could help with.

Is there a way to stop users from being deleted from an import. ?

I have a support user set up who is an administrator and has full access to NPrinting. This user was manually created and is also used in an API trigger to kick off an NPrinting task after the QVW has been reloaded.

I also have a recipient import task that runs once a month before a publish task runs (the import updates the recipients for the report distribution for the publish task).

i have to tick the option to remove any recipients that do not exist on the new import as the users change quite frequently.

What i am finding is that when the import runs, the support user is deleted as they are not on the new import list (the import list is created from QV and the support user details are not within the QV data).

I'm sure in NP16, a user would only be deleted from an import if they were originally imported from a task. if they were manually created then they would have to be manually deleted?? or am i wrong?

anyway, i am looking for a way to stop the support user from being deleted, i know i can add the user to the QV data but this also means changing the logic within the expressions to include this user in the results. so i would preferably like another way.

It would be useful if Qlik added a tick box against each user to 'never delete' the user.

any help would be appreciated.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Ruggero_Piccoli
Employee
Employee

Hi,

Please specify what version are you using.

In any case in both series 16.* and 17+ of Qlik NPrinting an user can be deleted only by the import task that created it.

If you manually create a user or create a user by a second import task it cannot be deleted by the first import task.

So be sure that the support user was not created by the import task and after manually modified.

You can also try to create another support user manually and after run the task to be sure that it is not deleted.

Best Regards,

Ruggero

---------------------------------------------

When applicable please mark the appropriate replies as CORRECT https://community.qlik.com/docs/DOC-14806. This will help community members and Qlik Employees know which discussions have already been addressed and have a possible known solution. Please mark threads as HELPFUL if the provided solution is helpful to the problem, but does not necessarily solve the indicated problem. You can mark multiple threads as HELPFUL if you feel additional info is useful to others.



Best Regards,
Ruggero
---------------------------------------------
When applicable please mark the appropriate replies as CORRECT. This will help community members and Qlik Employees know which discussions have already been addressed and have a possible known solution. Please mark threads with a LIKE if the provided solution is helpful to the problem, but does not necessarily solve the indicated problem. You can mark multiple threads with LIKEs if you feel additional info is useful to others.

View solution in original post

4 Replies
Ruggero_Piccoli
Employee
Employee

Hi,

Please specify what version are you using.

In any case in both series 16.* and 17+ of Qlik NPrinting an user can be deleted only by the import task that created it.

If you manually create a user or create a user by a second import task it cannot be deleted by the first import task.

So be sure that the support user was not created by the import task and after manually modified.

You can also try to create another support user manually and after run the task to be sure that it is not deleted.

Best Regards,

Ruggero

---------------------------------------------

When applicable please mark the appropriate replies as CORRECT https://community.qlik.com/docs/DOC-14806. This will help community members and Qlik Employees know which discussions have already been addressed and have a possible known solution. Please mark threads as HELPFUL if the provided solution is helpful to the problem, but does not necessarily solve the indicated problem. You can mark multiple threads as HELPFUL if you feel additional info is useful to others.



Best Regards,
Ruggero
---------------------------------------------
When applicable please mark the appropriate replies as CORRECT. This will help community members and Qlik Employees know which discussions have already been addressed and have a possible known solution. Please mark threads with a LIKE if the provided solution is helpful to the problem, but does not necessarily solve the indicated problem. You can mark multiple threads with LIKEs if you feel additional info is useful to others.

View solution in original post

hopkinsc
Partner
Partner

Hi Ruggero,

I am using version Sept 2018.

I have just tested the following..

1. create new 'Admin' user manually

2. Delete all other users

3. import list of users/filters (this list does not include the 'Admin' user i created in step 1)

The outcome was that the user created in step 1 has been deleted from the user list within NP and automatically logged me out.

One of the users that i imported had a role of Administrator, so i have logged in with that user and confirmed that the 'Admin' user has been deleted.

hopkinsc
Partner
Partner

Wait, i don't know what i was doing but it's now working! sorry to have wasted your time!

Thanks

Ruggero_Piccoli
Employee
Employee

Hi,

I'm really happy that you solved your issue!



Best Regards,
Ruggero
---------------------------------------------
When applicable please mark the appropriate replies as CORRECT. This will help community members and Qlik Employees know which discussions have already been addressed and have a possible known solution. Please mark threads with a LIKE if the provided solution is helpful to the problem, but does not necessarily solve the indicated problem. You can mark multiple threads with LIKEs if you feel additional info is useful to others.