Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
t-gilchrist
Contributor III
Contributor III

Creating a column for Shift using mm/dd/yyyy/ hh/mm/ss timestamp column

Hello all,

I'm looking to create a column for "Shift" (A,B,C,D,E) using a mm/dd/yyyy/ hh/mm/ss timestamp column inside my data table under data manager.

I'm extremely new to Qlik but have experience using excel/vba. Through google searches I've made it as far as...

data manager>edit this table>add field>calculate field>

I've started with just trying to get an expression that separates to...

A shift - 10:30pm-6:30am

B Shift - 6:30am-2:30pm

C Shift - 2:30pm-10:30pm

Eventually my end goal would be to include D and E shift

A shift - 10:30pm-6:30am Mon-Fri

B Shift - 6:30am-2:30pm Mon-Fri

C Shift - 2:30pm-10:30pm Mon-Fri

D Shift - 10:30pm-10:30am Sat-Sun

E Shift - 10:30am-10:30pm Sat-Sun

My current expression is...

if(Time([Time Quarantined]) >= MakeTime(10,30,00)

and Time([Time Quarantined]) < MakeTime(06,30,00),'A')

if(Time([Time Quarantined]) >= MakeTime(06,30,00)

and Time([Time Quarantined]) < MakeTime(02,30,00),'B')

if(Time([Time Quarantined]) >= MakeTime(02,30,00)

and Time([Time Quarantined]) < MakeTime(10,30,00),'C')

I get a "Missing Right parenthesis" error when I do this.

If I do..

if(Time([Time Quarantined]) >= MakeTime(10,30,00) ,'A')

Then It will create the column but the entire columns result is "A" so obviously I have more than just syntax errors in my expression.