Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
asb02512
Contributor III
Contributor III

How to Remove the Synthetic Keys

Dear all.

Please help me and guide me regarding the synthetic key issue. i am a newbie. Please find the attached image, I am getting the desired result but the issue is of synthetic keys. I dont know where i am doing the mistake renaming or qualify and unqualify. How to remove the synthetic keys in the current scenario.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
shraddha_g
Partner - Master III
Partner - Master III

Create a composite key of BRANCH_CD and CUST_SALESMAN to link Table Branches and Customer to Monthly_Sales_Activity. 2nd Key will be VNDR# and ITEM# to link Table Vendor and ITEM Master to Monthly Sales Activity.

View solution in original post

7 Replies
shraddha_g
Partner - Master III
Partner - Master III

Create a composite key of BRANCH_CD and CUST_SALESMAN to link Table Branches and Customer to Monthly_Sales_Activity. 2nd Key will be VNDR# and ITEM# to link Table Vendor and ITEM Master to Monthly Sales Activity.

shaktisinghchau
Contributor III
Contributor III

To minimize or remove synthetic key you can concatenate the fields which is causing synthetic key like I did below.

BRANCH_CD & '|'& CUST_SALESMAN AS Key

jonathandienst
Partner - Champion III
Partner - Champion III

Firstly - synthetic keys are not an evil that needs to be eradicated, they are a valid and efficient way to handle composite keys (association keys made up of more than one field).