Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
etxgmg
Contributor II
Contributor II

How to write script expressions that sets certain months in a formula?

I am a complete newbie to Qlik Sense Desktop and don't understand the syntax and how it applies to my case.

I have made a Bar diagram with Product as dimension and now need a measure like this: 

Sum(Sales Amount) for the months April to November / Sum(Sales Amount) for the months December to March 

(where / is divided by, the normal algebraic operator) This will show the products that sell relatively bad during the period Dec-March. 

and this using DateKey.autoCalendar.Month, I guess. 

What would the complete expression for the script editor be, including the formula with set expressions?  

Labels (1)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
etxgmg
Contributor II
Contributor II
Author

I gave up on this. It ought to be the calendar thing that somehow causes me problems, and I am completely new to Qlik. 

But I came around the problem by using alternate states (winter, notwinter) for the month ranges which I set by filter boxes instead. Then I used the states in the expressions for the measures (my calculations) with set-expressions. 

Sum({winter} [Sales Amount]) / Sum({notwinter} [Sales Amount]) 

I just followed the below guide, and its example, and then it worked! 

https://help.qlik.com/en-US/sense/April2019/Subsystems/Hub/Content/Sense_Hub/Visualizations/alternat... 

Many thanks, Dilipranjith, for your effort to help. Highly appreciated! 

View solution in original post

5 Replies
dplr-rn
Partner - Master III
Partner - Master III

try something like below
Sum({<DateKey.autoCalendar.Month={'April','May'}>}Sales)
dplr-rn
Partner - Master III
Partner - Master III

Expanding on my suggestion. use set analysis. it is a very powerful part of qlik

Sum({<DateKey.autoCalendar.Month -= {'Dec','Jan','Feb','Mar'}>}Sales)