Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Is there a way to accumulate running totals across a dimension?

I am fairly new to qlik sense, and have read several posts on similar topics, but have not found a direct answer to my situation.

I have data with several dimensions, but want to accumulate running totals across a single dimension.  An example is the easiest way to explain what I am looking to do.

My data has a month of origination dimension - VintMth (yyyymm) and an age dimension - MthsOrig (mm) along with other filtering dimensions and a measure that I wish to sum and total.  The chart shown below is after the first aggregation (the running sum).

MthsOrig
VintMth678910
Total190002100023000145007000

I am looking for the "Total" row.  I have found that the following formula gives me the desired result for each "VintMth":

sum(aggr(rangesum(above(total sum({<VINTMTH>} CHRGOFFAMT),0,RowNo()))

,VINTMTH,(MTHSORIG,numeric,ascending)))

Essentially I believe this gives me a running sum for each VintMth (the rows shown above).  Now I wish to accumulate these running sum amounts down the "MthsOrig" columns (in order to give a "Total" for each MthsOrig), which looks like I would need another aggregation formula that I don't believe is allowed on top of an existing aggregation formula.

Any ideas on how to solve this?

Labels (1)
16 Replies
sunny_talwar

So everything else looks good and you are only aiming to get the total row? Is that what you are trying to do?

Not applicable
Author

Correct.

The formula above does give the correct running sum of the individual amounts, but what I really need is the total row.

sunny_talwar

So this expression isn't giving you the right numbers?

Sum(Aggr(Rangesum(Above(TOTAL Sum({<VINTMTH>} CHRGOFFAMT), 0, RowNo()))

,VINTMTH,(MTHSORIG,numeric,ascending)))