Qlik Community

Qlik Sense App Development

Discussion board where members can learn more about Qlik Sense App Development and Usage.

Announcements
Qlik Analytics Tour 2020 Online. Begins August 10th. Register Today
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Creator II
Creator II

What happened to my saved changes?

We recently upgraded our Qlik Sense Enterprise version to the latest.  The save button seems to have been removed from the load script editor interface.  Each time I type something, the little indicator in the bottom right briefly changes to "Saving..." before settling back to "All changes saved."  I take this to mean that it is automatically saving for me and no action is required on my part.

However, I just spent hours editing the contents of a load script.  When I was finished, I confirmed that it said "All changes saved" as usual, and then I closed the browser tab.  An hour later, I opened that app again, and the latter ~90% of my changes were gone.

Did I do something wrong?  Or is this a really nasty bug?  What can I do?

Am I going to have to start copying and pasting my load scripts into text files for backup?

Labels (1)
4 Replies
Highlighted
Creator II
Creator II

Re: What happened to my saved changes?

Since no one ever replied, I will reply to myself to note the one solution that consistently works:

Press "Load data"

It's very annoying because even if you just want to save some trivial change like a spelling correction within a comment, you still have to reload your data, which might take multiple minutes.  But you have to do it.  Otherwise, I assure you, at some point, you WILL lose your work since Qlik's script-auto-save DOES NOT WORK RELIABLY.

Highlighted
Creator II
Creator II

Re: What happened to my saved changes?

Well, the auto-save functionality is still broken.  I got pulled away from my desk before hitting load data and Qlik eventually logged me out.  Lots of changes are gone.  New script sections are missing.  Deleted script sections are back.  Truly pathetic.

Highlighted
Partner
Partner

Re: What happened to my saved changes?

Hi,

I'm not sure since which release Qlik Sense Enterprise removed the "Save" button, but it's been a while for sure. It may be confusing until you get used to it. I've never been in the situation where I lost changes after seeing the "All changes saved." message. However, I normally wait like 20-30 seconds after the changes have been saved.

The only scenario when I've lost data is when Qlik Sense becomes unresponsive and you have to close the window and reopen Qlik Sense.

In summary, this automatic saving behavior is supposed to work as expected. Try to give some extra seconds before closing the window. If it still happens to you, then it may be a bug of the version/patch you're using

 

regards

Highlighted
Creator II
Creator II

Re: What happened to my saved changes?

"It's never happened to me."  Ok.

"It may be confusing until you get used to it."  Yes, when a company removes the most fundamental feature possible (saving) and replaces it with a broken feature (auto-saving), it is indeed confusing and difficult to get used to.

"It's supposed to work."  Yes, of course.

"Try waiting 30 seconds before closing the window."  Changes I make are sometimes not auto-saved even after hours.  If I do not hit Load Data, the changes are not safe, period.  The "All changes saved" message is pure fantasy.

Our server is a few versions behind.  Hopefully, when we get the chance to upgrade, it will fix this, but I'm not holding my breath.  I just posted today to vent my continued frustration.