cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
shah_sapana
Contributor
Contributor

Yearly Total for given Month

I am new to qlik sense and trying create one dashboard with YTD,MTD,QTD and WTD. My requirement is to pull data for entire year or quarter even if i filter data from one date. Like if i select 3/37/2019 than month chart should pull data for entire march and year chart should pull data for entire 2019 year. As of now it's pulling just for this particular date.

Please advise.

Thanks

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
dplr-rn
Partner - Master III
Partner - Master III

Basically if you have a date field we tend to break down the date into different components to make selection easier.
for this we use master calendar table. this master calendar will have each value of transaction date and the corresponding day, month, year, month year etc.
e.g. for 03/28/2019 master calendar will have day-28, month-march, year 2019, month-year Mar-2019 etc.
this makes selections easier e.g. a user can select a filter called MonthYear and select every transaction from that year
check below (its qlikview but logic remains the same)
https://community.qlik.com/t5/QlikView-Scripting/Creating-A-Master-Calendar/td-p/341286

there is some inexpensive training courses on udemy i suggest you tackle that .

View solution in original post

8 Replies
dplr-rn
Partner - Master III
Partner - Master III

That is how it works by default.
One way to do what you want is set analysis where you specify month and year dynamically
e.g.
entire year - sum({<Date=,Year={'$(=Year(Max(Date)))'}>}LineSalesAmount)

similar approach for month
using max date here but you can use what suits your need
shah_sapana
Contributor
Contributor
Author

Thanks and i really appreciate your prompt reply. But can you please elaborate your solution. As i mentioned i am new to Qlik. 

what would be entire year ? and max date ? I mean i want to achieve sum of entire year or month by passing one date.