Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
johnlloyd45
Contributor
Contributor

Import Multiple CSV Files?

Hi, I'm completely new to Qlik Sense and am really struggling with working out how to import multiple data files.

My data sets are very simple in that they are two column CSV files with the first column containing the Timestamp and the second column a list of values. Unfortunately all of my data is in separate CSV's so I can have many different files, none of which have headings on the columns; the only unique identifiers are the filenames.

I am able to manually import these files one at a time, type in field-heading names (Timestep for column 1, whatever the filename is for column 2) and associate the files. But this is very time consuming and I'm sure there is a way to script this process.

Can anyone help me out with this?

Thanks!

12 Replies
Gysbert_Wassenaar

You can try a wildcard load:

LOAD * FROM [LIB://mycsvfiles/*.csv] (txt, codepage is 1252, no labels, delimiter is ',', msq, header)

talk is cheap, supply exceeds demand
johnlloyd45
Contributor
Contributor
Author

Thanks for the suggestion.

That's not given me quite what I'm looking for. It appears to have brought all of the data in to a single table. When I import the CSV files manually they all come in as separate files and I'm able to associate them with each other. This is what I'm trying to achieve.

And any suggestion for automatically naming the field heating using each CSV filename?

Thanks,

John

Anonymous
Not applicable

I agree with gwassenaar‌!

If the files are identical i.e. the number and name of columns, delimiters, header sizes (where the first row starts), etc are the same, then using a wildcard load should concatenate them into one table.