Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Totals in Excel

Hi

I'm new to Qlik so this may be a simple question, but I'm struggling to find a solution to a graph problem

We have an excel placed out in the format below

ProjectJanfebmarch
Project 1100
Project 2100
Project 3300
Project 4100

I would like to produce a graph in Qlik that shows a monthly running total, months along the bottom with the total values in a graph (basically turnover each month)

So Jan would show 200

Feb 300

March 100

Is this possible to do?

Many Thanks

7 Replies
rubenmarin

Hi Michael, you can drag and drop excel in QV, this will open the File Assistant

Press Next 2 times and press the 'Cross table...' button

Set a name for the attribute field and another for the data:

From the you can create a bar chart with the attribute field (Month in my case) and an expression like:

Sum(DataField)  (Value in my case)

In the 'Sort' tab you can check load order for month:

this way you can get this graph:

Not applicable
Author

HI Thanks for the quick response,

Again could be a daft question I'm using Qlik Sense Desktop at the moment does this still apply?

Many Thanks

rubenmarin

Again I didn't saw this was a Sense question, sorry.

It can work but I think the assistant can't help you with crosstable, you can avoid the assistant and edit the script directly, you can use:

CrossTable(Month, Value)

LOAD Project,

Jan,

feb,

march

FROM

[ExcelPath\ExcelName.xls]

(biff, embedded labels, table is Hoja1$);

Hope this helps

rubenmarin

For Sense, inside the editor you need to create a file connection to the folder where excel is stored, if you name this 'Data', you can use an script like this:

For sorting month by load order you need to uncheck the auto-sort, and in custom sort unckeck all.

Not applicable
Author