Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Sharing app with specific users in stream

Hello,

Let's say a user is within a big department, they all have access to a stream.

This user wants to create an app and share it to specific users from this department, so if the app is published to that stream, not all users should be able to see it.

What are the possible options to achieve this in qliksense?

Do we have to create another stream for those users only (As this might lead to creating many streams and this is not desired by the client)

Is it through security rules? How?

Appreciate having a detailed clarification, as I'm new to qliksense admin part.

Thanks.

5 Replies
arasantorule
Creator III
Creator III

Hi,

The users in the stream can have different access rights.

Few users can have only read rights, few users may have both read and publish while others may have only publish access to the stream. However, security cannot be changed to a specific app level in the stream.

More detailed explanations are available below

https://help.qlik.com/en-US/sense/1.1/Subsystems/Hub/Content/Hub/Streams.htm

https://help.qlik.com/en-US/sense/1.1/Subsystems/ManagementConsole/Content/ServerUserGuide/SUG_Strea...

Thanks.

Anonymous
Not applicable
Author

We did something similar to this by creating a custom property on each user. I.e. Organisation. We then had to modify the App* rule to include a clause that matches the resource owner's department with the current user's.

i.e.

resource.owner.@ORG = user.@ORG

There is a default rule: "Stream" which defines if you have access to the apps or not. I would disable the standard rule and create a new one. 

The following edit limits all streams so that you can only Read apps where your custom value Org is the same as the App owners custom value.

((resource.resourcetype = "App" and resource.stream.HasPrivilege("read"))

or