Skip to main content
Announcements
Have questions about Qlik Connect? Join us live on April 10th, at 11 AM ET: SIGN UP NOW
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
BradMazurek
Contributor II
Contributor II

Understanding QField.selectValues()

I'm new to Qlik and it's been almost 10 years since I programmed in JavaScript, so please bear with me...I'm trying to make an extension.

I'm having several issues with QField.selectValues(). In the course of trying to diagnose my problem, I've encountered several things I'd like to have clarified.

A selectValues() call doesn't seem to be idempotent. If I make a call once, it works. If I make the same call twice in a row, nothing happens. Why? Logically, shouldn't it be idempotent? (I'm looking to understand why so I can integrate the rationale into my mental model.)

By way of example, consider the snippet below. If there was only one selectValues() below it works find. A second causes no selection to occur. A third causes it to be selected. Is selectValues() really a toggle of some sort? If so, why?

$("#" + utils.fieldToId(curField)).on( "click", "#" + id, function() {
   thisApp.field("First Name").selectValues(["Brad"], true, true);
});​​

When calling selectValues() there seems to be a difference between passing in a Qlik-generated row object with a qText property and a generic object with a qText property. Why? If I pass in a Qlik object it fails. For example:

thisApp.field(value.qName).rows.forEach( function(row) {
thisApp.field(curField.qName).selectValues([row], true, true); //does not work
thisApp.field(curField.qName).selectValues([{qText:row.qText}], true, true); //works​