Qlik Connect 2024! Seize endless possibilities! LEARN MORE
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Not applicable

Advice on loading Select data

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to QV, soo please bear with me.

I've connected to a reasonably large database containing 2.5million+ records with 50 or so columns, and would like to analyse all the records in only 20 or so columns.

Is it best to SELECT all the records for the columns in question first, before performing a series of filtering steps to focus on the subset that I want to analyse, or would it be better to build in all the filters after the select statement. I was hoping to pull in everything and use a tool in the GUI to define the filters.

Another related concern I have is how the data is refreshed. Would I need to perform a Reload each time I want to analyse the latest set of data? Or, can I just refresh the subset I am analysing.

Thank you very much for your help.

vcoder

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Gysbert_Wassenaar

By load I mean the process. The load statement won't speed things up if you need to get data from a database. You'll still need the select statement. Btw, qlikview doesn't parse the select statement, but sends it as is to the database. It just receives the results and puts them in a table in qlikview in-memory associative database. So why use a preceding load when using a select statement? Well, some things are more easily done in qlikview. The preceding load pipes the results from the select to the load where you can do some additional processing. A preceding load is something like:

load *;

select a,b,c from mydb.mytable

where a is not null;

In this case load *; doesn't do anything extra so it's a useless preceding load here.

It's possible to do incremental loading. This works best if in your database your tables contain a field with the modification date(time) of the record. See here for links to posts about incremental reloading.